FrançaisBio.html
CV • PDFBio_English_files/CVMars16.pdf

“In Anick La Bissonnière’s view, a theatrical stage is not just a receptacle to be decorated, but rather space to be occupied and built as a highly meaningful aspect of the performance.” (Excerpt from the Dictionnaire des artistes québécois, by Hélène Jacques.)


Following studies in Switzerland and Montreal and internships in Paris and Lausanne, Anick La Bissonnière was noticed and rewarded with two prizes as soon as she left architecture school in 1990, including the prestigious Alcan Award, given for one of the best design project at a Montreal university. This project, for a theatre, was a clear indication of where her interests lay. It was shortly thereafter, in 1993, that she created her first professional stage design, which was favourably received by both critics and the general public. 


Since that time, Anick La Bissonnière has collaborated with dozens of directors, of all ages and generations and representing all currents of thought (including Brigitte Haentjens, André Brassard, Lorraine Pintal, Frédéric Dubois, Matthew Jocelyn, Marie Brassard, Gilles Maheu, Michel Lemieux et Victor Pilon), videographers, lighting designers, costume designers, visual artists (including René Derouin), choreographers (including Jeffrey Hall and Isabelle Van Grimde), orchestra conductors, singers, directors, actors and playwrights, not to mention the many artisans, technicians, engineers and specialists whose services she has called on in the course of her career. Her creations have been seen in theatre, dance, film, urban events, circuses, museums and site-specific installations.


Anick La Bissonnière’s work has also been featured on renowned international stages (the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, the Festival d’Avignon, the Brooklyn Academy of New York, the Teatro Colon in Buenos Aires and in Asia); on Canadian stages outside of Quebec (the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, Théâtre Populaire de l’Acadie in Caraquet, Théâtre de l’Escaouette in Moncton, Théâtre du Nouvel Ontario in Sudbury); in Montreal (Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, Usine C, Salle Wilfrid Pelletier); in public festivals (the Festival de Jazz de Montréal, the Festival Franco-Ontarien in Ottawa); in museums (the University of Alberta Museum, the Musée National des Beaux Arts du Québec; the Shanghai World’s Fair in Shanghai, China); and on television (concerts of the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal and Cirque du Soleil’s Soleil de Minuit), to name just a few. She has received many awards and prizes, including a prestigious recognition at the 2007 Prague Quadrennial of Performance Design and Space, alongside great artists like France’s Jean-Guy Lecat, Mexico’s Alejandro Luna and Ming Cho Lee from the U.S., as well as the 2015 ACMA Critic’s Award, in Argentina. She’s been shortlisted three times for the Siminovitch award in 2006, 2009 and 2012. before being the recipient in 2015.


Since 1995, she has been actively sharing her knowledge in most of Montreal’s universities and theatres with hundreds of students in architecture and visual arts programs and, since 2010, in set design courses at Université du Québec à Montréal. As an added complement to her practice as a set designer, she has taken part in the design and construction of dozens of performance venues across the country. 


The three separate axis of Anick La Bissonnière’s career – as set designer, architect and educator – place her in a unique position in contemporary theatre as a formidable technician, a gifted communicator, a tireless researcher, but, above all, a complete, sensitive artist with a remarkable sense of creativity.

Anick La Bissonnière  •  architect and scenographer

réalisationsRealisationsIndex.html
photographiePhotographie.html
actualitésActualites.html
dossier de presseDossier_de_presse.html
bio
accueilAccueil.html

© Izabel Zimmer

réalisationsRealisationsIndex.html
actualitésActualites.html
dossier de presseDossier_de_presse.html
accueilAccueil.html
photographiePhotographie.html
bio
 

«Anick La Bissonnière envisage la scène de théâtre non pas comme le réceptacle d’un simple décor, mais bien comme un espace à investir et à construire, qui devient un élément hautement signifiant dans la représentation.» (Extrait du Dictionnaire des artistes québécois, texte signé Hélène Jacques.)


Après des études en Suisse et à Montréal, des stages à Paris et à Lausanne, dès sa sortie de l’école d’architecture en 1990, le travail d’Anick La Bissonnière a été remarqué et récompensé par deux prix dont la prestigieuse bourse Alcan remise alors à un projet universitaire Montréalais d’exception. Ce projet proposait déjà les plans d’un théâtre. Il ne lui fallut pas beaucoup de temps pour s’investir sur la scène professionnelle en signant, en 1993, sa première scénographie qui fut accueillie favorablement par la critique et le public.


Depuis lors, Anick La Bissonnière a collaboré avec des dizaines de metteurs en scène, de tous âges, générations et ascendants (dont Brigitte Haentjens, André Brassard, Lorraine Pintal, Frédéric Dubois, Matthew Jocelyn, Marie Brassard, Gilles Maheu, Michel Lemieux et Victor Pilon), des vidéastes, éclairagistes, concepteurs de costumes, artistes visuels (dont René Derouin), chorégraphes (dont Jeffrey Hall et Isabelle Van Grimde), chefs d’orchestre, chanteurs, réalisateurs, acteurs, dramaturges auxquels s’ajoutent les multiples artisans, techniciens, ingénieurs, et spécialistes qu’elle a sollicités au fil des projets. Ses créations ont servi tant le théâtre, la danse, le film, les événements urbains, le cirque, les musées que les installations in situ.


Son travail a été vu sur des grandes scènes internationales (partout en Europe dont au Théâtre du Châtelet à Paris et au Festival d’Avignon; aux États-Unis dont au Brooklyn Academy of New York; en Amérique du sud dont au Teatro Colon à Buenos Aires, ainsi qu’en Asie.), comme sur les scènes canadiennes (Centre National des Arts à Ottawa, Théâtre Populaire de l’Acadie à Caraquet, Théâtre de l’Escaouette à Moncton, Théâtre du Nouvel Ontario à Sudbury) et montréalaises (Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, Usine C, Wilfrid Pelletier, etc); sur la place publique (Festival de Jazz de Montréal, Festival Franco-Ontarien à Ottawa), dans les musées (University of Alberta Museums, Musée National des Beaux Arts du Québec; l’Exposition Universelle de Shanghai, Chine); à la télévision (concerts de l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, Soleil de Minuit du Cirque du Soleil), entre autres. Elle a reçu des prix et des bourses de plusieurs instances dont une prestigieuse reconnaissance à la Quadriennale internationale de scénographie de Prague en 2007 aux côtés de grands artistes tels que Jean-Guy Lecat de France, Alejandro Luna du Mexique et de Ming Cho Lee des États Unis et le prix de la critique (ACMA award) en Argentine en 2015. Elle a été trois fois finaliste au prix Siminovitch en 2006, 2009 et 2012 avant de le remporter en 2015.


Depuis 1995, elle s’est engagée dans la transmission de son savoir dans la plupart des institutions universitaires et théâtrales montréalaises auprès de centaines d’étudiants en architecture, en arts visuels et plus récemment, depuis 2010, en scénographie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Parallèlement à sa pratique de scénographe, elle a participé à la conception et la réalisation de plusieurs dizaines de salles de spectacles à travers le pays.


Son triple parcours de scénographe, d’architecte et de pédagogue la place dans une position unique sur la scène théâtrale contemporaine, faisant d’elle une technicienne redoutable, une communicatrice douée, une chercheuse infatigable mais surtout une artiste complète, sensible et dotée d’une intelligence créatrice remarquable.

Anick La Bissonnière  •  architecte et scénographe

© Izabel Zimmer

CV • PDFBio_files/CVMars16.pdf
EnglishBio_English.html